Banking » Reviews » TD Bank CD Rates, February 2024
Advertiser Disclosure This website is an independent, advertising-supported comparison service. The product offers that appear on this site are from companies from which this website receives compensation. This compensation may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). This website does not include all card companies or all card offers available in the marketplace. This website may use other proprietary factors to impact card offer listings on the website such as consumer selection or the likelihood of the applicant’s credit approval. This allows us to maintain a full-time, editorial staff and work with finance experts you know and trust. The compensation we receive from advertisers does not influence the recommendations or advice our editorial team provides in our articles or otherwise impacts any of the editorial content on The Smart Investor. While we work hard to provide accurate and up to date information that we think you will find relevant, The Smart Investor does not and cannot guarantee that any information provided is complete and makes no representations or warranties in connection thereto, nor to the accuracy or applicability thereof. Learn more about how we review products and read our advertiser disclosure for how we make money. All products are presented without warranty.

TD Bank CD Rates, June 2024

TD Bank offers high CD Rates only on specific terms such as 6, 12, and 24 months. Here are the rates, terms, and early withdrawal penalties.
Author: Josiah Mwangi
Josiah Mwangi

Writer, Contributor

Experience

Josiah Mwangi is a Certified Public Accountant and has an MBA in Finance. He has been writing for the Huff Post, Corporate Finance Insitute, Smarter.loans, and other top publications. In his free time, he goes hiking alongside his two German Shepherds
Interest Rates Last Update: June 3, 2024
The banking product interest rates, including savings, CDs, and money market, are accurate as of this date.
Author: Josiah Mwangi
Josiah Mwangi

Writer, Contributor

Experience

Josiah Mwangi is a Certified Public Accountant and has an MBA in Finance. He has been writing for the Huff Post, Corporate Finance Insitute, Smarter.loans, and other top publications. In his free time, he goes hiking alongside his two German Shepherds
Interest Rates Last Update: June 3, 2024

The banking product interest rates, including savings, CDs, and money market, are accurate as of this date.

We earn a commission from our partner links on this page. It doesn't affect the integrity of our unbiased, independent editorial staff. Transparency is a core value for us, read our advertiser disclosure and how we make money.

CDs are considered a low-risk investment option, as they are insured by the FDIC (Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation) in the United States and by the CDIC (Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation) in Canada, up to certain limits.

TD Bank offers a variety of CD options with different terms and interest rates, allowing customers to choose the option that best fits their savings goals and needs. They also offer other savings and investment products, such as savings accounts, money market accounts, and individual retirement accounts (IRAs).

TD Bank CDs

APY Range

1.00% – 5.00%

Minimum Deposit

$250

Terms

3 months – 5 years

Our Rating

3.5
3.5/5

TD Bank CDs

APY Range

1.00% – 5.00%

Minimum Deposit

$250

Terms

3 months – 5 years

Our Rating

3.5
3.5/5

TD Bank CD Rates

Despite the original deposit or duration, certain TD Bank CDs yield a low rate. But, if you choose specific terms, such as 12 months, you can get a much higher rate. But, to get the highest rate, you'll need an eligible TD bank checking account.  Also, remember you won't have access to long-term CDs with high rates. So, for example, if you're looking for the best CD rates for 5 years, you'll need to search other banks.

Compared to other traditional banks, TD offers higher rates. While the terms are limited, you can enjoy similar rates to what you can get with online banks, which is uncommon for traditional banks.

CD Term
APY
3 Months
1.00% – 3.00%
6 Months
1.00% – 5.00%
9 Months
1.00% – 4.00%
12 Months
1.00% – 4.50%
18 Months
1.00% – 4.00%
24 Months
1.00% – 4.00%
36 Months
1.00% – 3.51%
48 Months
0.05%
60 Months (Step Rate CD)
1.00% – 2.50%

Overall, the rates are low. For example, if you're looking for a 6-month CD, TD offers  1.00% – 5.00% APY while you can get over 4% APY with other banks, according to our 6-month CD rates list.

TD Bank Open a CD
Open a CD on TD Bank app (Rates may change, screenshot taken by our team from TD Bank)

How Much Can You Earn If You Deposit $100,000 Today?

If you put $100,000 into a TD Bank CD, the anticipated earnings (before taxes), assuming interest compounds everyday and there is no early withdrawal fee, are as follows:

CD Term
Interest Earned
3 Months
$12
6 Months
$1,746
12 Months
$4,024
18 Months
$74
24 Months
$8,744
36 Months
$296
48 Months
$197
60 Months (Step Rate CD)
$742

Sign Up for

Our Newsletter

Join our community for the latest attractive savings rate changes ,expert insights, and member-only perks

How TD Bank CDs Work

The minimum deposit for all TD CDs is $250, but you must schedule a consultation with a TD banker if you wish to open a CD with a deposit of more than $1 million. Although the bank appears to pay the same yield wherever you are, rates may differ by ZIP code.

The terms of TD Bank CDs range between 3 months – 5 years. This contains terms of  3, 6, 9, 12, 18,24, 36, 48 and 60 months.

It is crucial to keep in mind that there will be fees associated with early withdrawal of funds. The fine varies depending on how long your CD is.

  • Less than a 3-month term: If the term of your CD is less than six months, you will be charged all interest as a penalty on the amount withdrawn. 
  • 3-month to one-year period: The early withdrawal penalty you'll pay under these CD terms is 3 months of interest, subject to a maximum based on the total interest you've accrued so far.
  • One-year to two-year period: The early withdrawal penalty you'll pay under these CD terms is 6 months of interest
  • Two-year to 5-year period: The early withdrawal penalty you'll pay under these CD terms is 9-18 months of interes
    • 2 years < 3 years: 9 months of interest
    • 3 years < 4 years: 12 months of interest
    • 4 years < 5 years: 18 months of interest
  • +5-year period: 24 months of interest will be charged if you prematurely withdraw from a CD for five years or more.
CD Term
Early Withdrawal Penalty
3 Months
3 months of interest
6 Months
3 months of interest
12 Months
6 months of interest
18 Months
6 months of interest
24 Months
9 months of interest
36 Months
12 months of interest
48 Months
18 months of interest
60 Months (Step Rate CD)
24 months of interest

TD Bank CD Rates vs Savings Rates

While the rates on TD Bank's basic CDs are generally high, as long as you choose the higher APY terms. They are substantially higher than the rates on a typical TD savings account. 

The typical savings accounts do, however, charge a monthly maintenance cost. However, this fee may be avoided if you have auto savings or a minimum daily balance of $300.

The monthly fee may start to deplete your savings account if you are unable to readily meet these waiver requirements.

CDs
Savings
APY
1.00% – 5.00%
0.01% – 4.00%
Minimum Deposit
$250
$0
Fees
$0
$5 Can be waived if you carry $300 minimum account balance or $25+ recurring transfer
TD Open a savings account
Open a savings account with TD Bank (Screenshot from TD Bank)

About TD Bank

TD Bank is a Canadian multinational banking and financial services corporation headquartered in Toronto, Ontario. It is one of the largest banks in Canada and the United States, with operations in several other countries as well.

TD Bank offers a wide range of financial products and services, including personal and business banking, wealth management, insurance, and investment services. The bank has a strong presence on the East Coast of North America, with over 1,200 branches and over 2,600 ATMs in the United States and Canada.

If you want to know more about TD bank, you can take a look at our TD Bank review for 2024.

FAQs

TD Bank does not currently have a no-penalty CD, as of June 2024.

During a grace period of ten (10) days that starts on each anniversary of the account opening date, withdrawals in full and in part are permitted without incurring fees.

TD early withdrawal penalty depends on your CD term, the higher the term  -the higher the penalty. The lowest penalty is 3 months of interest for CD up to 1 year, and 6-24 months of interest penalty for longer terms.

How We Rate Certificates of Deposits: Our Methodology

The Smart Investor team has thoroughly examined certificate of deposit (CD) offerings from various banks, considering multiple factors to provide a comprehensive evaluation. Here's how we rated them across four key categories:

  • CD Rates (50%): We meticulously analyzed the interest rates offered by each bank on their certificate of deposit (CD) products. Higher ratings were awarded to banks offering competitive rates that provide maximum returns for customers' investments. Factors such as the yield curve, current market conditions, and consistency of rates were considered to assess the attractiveness of each bank's CD rates.

  • CD Features (30%): This category evaluated the features associated with each bank's certificate of deposit offerings. Factors considered include the variety of terms available, early withdrawal penalties, minimum deposit requirements, and any additional features or benefits. Higher ratings were given to banks offering a diverse range of CD terms, reasonable early withdrawal fees, and flexible options to meet customers' investment needs.

  • Customer Experience (10%): A positive customer experience is paramount, even when investing in CDs. We assessed each bank's performance in this area, considering factors such as the ease of opening a CD account, the responsiveness of customer service, and overall user satisfaction. Higher ratings were assigned to banks with efficient account opening processes, helpful customer support, and a track record of satisfying customers.

  • Bank Reputation (10%): The reputation of a bank is a critical consideration when investing in CDs. We evaluated each bank's reputation based on factors such as financial stability, regulatory compliance, and public perception. Higher ratings were given to banks with a solid reputation for reliability and trustworthiness, ensuring customers' investments are safe and secure.

By considering these categories and assigning appropriate weights to each, our review aims to provide valuable insights to help individuals make informed decisions when investing in certificate of deposits.

Compare CD Rates

Picture of Josiah Mwangi

Josiah Mwangi

Josiah Mwangi is a Certified Public Accountant and has an MBA in Finance. He has been writing for the Huff Post, Corporate Finance Insitute, Smarter.loans, and other top publications. In his free time, he goes hiking alongside his two German Shepherds
Search
Best CD Rates
Top Offers From Our Partners

UpgradeLogo

Savings Rate: 5.21% APY
Minimum Deposit:
$0
 
CIT-Bank-Logo
Savings Rate: Up to 5.00% APY
Minimum Deposit:
$5,000
Quontic bank logo
Savings Rate: 4.50% APY
Minimum Deposit:
$100
 
Advertiser Disclosure
The product offers that appear on this site are from companies from which this website receives compensation.
Top Offers From Our Partners

PNC bank logo

Promotion:
Up to $400 Open a new, select Virtual Wallet product and receive $500/$2,000/$5,000 or more in qualifying monthly direct deposits within 60 days to earn a $100/$200/$400 bonus.
Subject to state availability
PNC Virtual Wallet ® is available in AL, AZ, CA, CO, DC, DE, FL, GA, IL, IN, KY, MD, MI, NC, NJ, NY, NM, OH, PA, SC, TX, VA, WI, and WV. Virtual Wallet ® is offered in the state of MO with the exception of the Greater Kansas City area. Product availability may vary based on where you open your account and the Zip code of your primary address.

Chase_logo

Promotion:
$300 New Chase checking customers enjoy a $300 bonus when you open a Chase Total Checking® account and make direct deposits totaling $500 or more within 90 days of coupon enrollment.. Expired on 7/24/2024
Chase Overdraft Assist
With Chase Overdraft AssistSM, you won’t be charged an Overdraft Fee if you’re overdrawn by $50 or less at the end of the business day OR if you’re overdrawn by more than $50 and you bring your account balance to overdrawn by $50 or less at the end of the next business day

UpgradeLogo

Fees:
No monthly fees No monthly fees and no overdraft fees. Plus get reimbursed for ATM fees with an active account 
Rewards:
Up to 2% cash back Up to 2% cash back on common everyday expenses for active accounts with monthly $1,000 direct deposit, and up to 1% cash back for other purchases 

Promotion:
$300 Use Promo Code “AXOS300” for a $300 bonus when you apply for a Rewards Checking account
Up to 3.30% APY
to get the maximum rate (up to $50,000) you’ll need monthly direct deposits of $1,500 (0.40% APY), 10 transaction on your debit card (+0.30% APY), average daily balance of $2,500 on Axos Invest Managed Portfolio (+1.00% APY), average daily balance of $2,500 on Axos Invest Self Directed Trading Account(+1.00% APY) and make full monthly payment on loans (mortgage, personal and auto) with Axos account (+0.60% APY).

penfed personal loan

APY on Daily Balances
0.15% APY on daily balances of less than $20,000 or 0.35% APY on daily balances of $20,000 up to $50,000
Get paid up to 2 days early
Set up direct deposits and get your paycheck up to 2 days early

Promotion:
Up to $4,000 New customers may earn up to $4,000 when they open an eligible HSBC Premier checking account from January 8, 2024 through March 27, 2024 and complete qualifying activities:

• Receive a cash bonus of $1,500 when you deposit or invest $100,000 – $199,999.99

• Receive a cash bonus of $2,000 when you deposit or invest $200,000 – $299,999.99

• Receive a cash bonus of $2,500 when you deposit or invest $300,000 – 499,999.99

• Receive a cash bonus of $3,500 when you deposit or invest $500,000+

• Earn an extra $500 when you set up recurring monthly Direct Deposits totaling at least $5,000 for 3 months
Wealth Products & Advice
Get access to wealth products, insights and advice from an HSBC Financial Professional through HSBC Securities (USA) Inc
Advertiser Disclosure
The product offers that appear on this site are from companies from which this website receives compensation.

#1 In Banking

Our Newsletter

Get expert advice, insider tips, fresh banking promotions and rate changes on savings accounts and CDs

Banking Promotions & Latest Rate Updates

Our Banking Newsletter

Sign up for our newsletter and gain access to expert advice,
insider knowledge, and exclusive updates